Home » JenaVersum » Research » Leibniz-HKI
_

Leibniz Institute for Natural Product Research and Infection Biology – Hans Knöll Institute

At a glance:

  • We combine microbial natural product research with infection biology, especially of human pathogenic fungi.
  • Microorganisms are the source of new natural products that can be used medicinally. We investigate their natural synthesis and function and optimize their biotechnological production.
  • Fungi can cause life-threatening infections that have been difficult to diagnose and treat. We investigate the molecular mechanisms of disease progression and develop new approaches for therapy, especially for resistant pathogens.

Microbial natural products serve as messengers for biological communication and are essential for our life. However, they play an ambivalent role: on the one hand, they are involved in triggering infectious diseases, on the other hand, they are one of the most important sources for drugs such as antibiotics.

Scientists at the Leibniz-HKI in Jena are researching the communication between microorganisms and the natural substances involved. They use the knowledge gained in this way to develop innovative solutions for the diagnosis and natural product-based therapy of diseases. The research results, their bioinformatic analysis and derived models contribute to the systems biology understanding of infections.

Personen

_

Contact

Leibniz Institute for Natural Product Research and Infection Biology – Hans Knöll Institute

Beutenbergstraße 11a
07745 Jena

E-mail: info@leibniz-hki.de

Home » JenaVersum » Forschung » Leibniz-HKI
_

Leibniz-Institut für Naturstoff-Forschung und
Infektionsbiologie – Hans-Knöll-Institut

Auf einen Blick:

  • Wir verbinden mikrobielle Naturstoff-Forschung mit der Infektionsbiologie insbesondere human-pathogener Pilze.
  • Mikroorganismen sind die Quelle für neue Naturstoffe, die sich medizinisch nutzen lassen. Wir erforschen ihre natürliche Synthese und Funktion und optimieren deren biotechnologische Produktion.
  • Pilze können lebensbedrohende Infektionen auslösen, die bislang nur schwer diagnostiziert und behandelt werden können. Wir erforschen die molekularen Mechanismen des Krankheitsverlaufs und entwickeln neue Ansätze für die Therapie, insbesondere auch für resistente Erreger.

Mikrobielle Naturstoffe dienen als Boten für die biologische Kommunikation und sind essentiell für unser Leben. Sie spielen jedoch eine ambivalente Rolle: Auf der einen Seite sind sie an der Auslösung von Infektionskrankheiten beteiligt, auf der anderen Seite sind sie eine der wichtigsten Quellen für Medikamente wie Antibiotika.

Wissenschaftler*innen am Leibniz-HKI in Jena erforschen die Kommunikation zwischen Mikroorganismen und die daran beteiligten Naturstoffe. Das so gewonnene Wissen nutzen sie für die Entwicklung innovativer Lösungen für die Diagnose und Naturstoff-basierte Therapie von Krankheiten. Die Forschungsergebnisse, ihre bioinformatische Analyse und daraus abgeleitete Modelle tragen zum systembiologischen Verständnis von Infektionen bei.

Personen

_

Kontakt

Leibniz-Institut für Naturstoff-Forschung und Infektionsbiologie Hans-Knöll-Institut

Beutenbergstraße 11a
07745 Jena

E-Mail: info@leibniz-hki.de